About Us

Theological Commission Fact Sheet

"Providing theological reflection from a global perspective"

Theological Assistance Program (TAP) - established 1968

Theological Commission of the World Evangelical Fellowship - established 1974

International Council of Accrediting Agencies (ICAA) - established 1980 (later became ICETE)

Faculty Development Scholarship Scheme - established 1983 - suspended 1995

Theological News first published 1969 - merged with Theological Education Today 1982-90

Evangelical Review of Theology - first published 1977; Index 1977-95 - Oct 1995, CD, 2000

Editor ERT- Dr B.J. Nicholls 1977-86, 1991-98; Dr S. Sumithra 1986-1990, Dr B.R. Ro 1990; Dr D. Parker, 1999-2009, Dr J. Thacker 2009 -

General Meetings - Consultations

1975 September - London Bible College "Defending and Confirming the Gospel"

1980 March - Mabledon, Kent

1983 June - Wheaton, Ill.

1986 Singapore: "Jesus Christ our Redeemer and Liberator"

1990 Wheaton, Ill: "Theological Issues in the 90s"

1992 Manila, Philippines: "The Unique Christ in our Pluralistic World"

1996 London Bible College: "Faith and Hope for the Future"

2001 Kuala Lumpur (WEF 11th General Assembly ): Ecclesiology

2002 Woelmersen, Germany (joint with FEET): 'European Theology in World Perspective'

2003 High Wycombe, UK (joint track with ICETE) 'Theology of Theological Education'

2004 Sept-Oct: Bangkok, Thailand: Joint session with LCWE Theology Working Group, and in also Issue Groups of the LCWE 2004 Forum on World Evangelization, Pattya.

2005 Sept-Oct Seoul, Korea: Joint session with Korea Evangelical Theological Society in Third International Conference on Evangelical Theology: 'The Task of Evangelical Theology for the Church of the 21st Century.'

2006 Sept: Nairobi, Kenya: Consultation: Religious Fundamentalism as a Global Issue; Symposium on African Theology.

2007 July-Aug, Philadelphia, USA: Providence and Evangelical Political Engagement; Theology for Ministry.

2008  October, Bangkok, Thailand: Holistic Gospel in a Developing Society.

2009, Sao Paulo, Brazil: Evangelical Theology: Ways and Means in Latin America


Dr Bruce J. Nicholls - 1969-1986

Dr Sunand Sumithra (1986-89)

Dr Bong Rin Ro 1990-1996 (acting 1989-90) on furlough 1995-96

Dr James J. Stamoolis - 1998-2001

Dr David Parker - 2007-2009


Dr B. Kato 1975

Dr A. Clemenhaga 1975-1980

Dr David Gitari 1980-1986

Dr Peter Kuzmic 1986-1996

Dr. Rolf Hille 1996-2008 (also served as Executive Director 1996-1998, 2001-2007)

Dr Justin Thacker, 2008-2010

Dr. Thomas Schirrmacher, 2010 -


Dr David Parker 1995-6,2003-2007

Dr Rolf Hille 1996-98, 2001-3

For a fascinating look at the work of the Theological Commission, see Harold Fuller's book, "People of the Mandate", chapter 10: 'One God, Many Worlds'.

See also the official history of the Theological Commission: Discerning the Obedience of Faith by David Parker